Bread

I decided to resurrect a couple of old blog posts in order to get my blog moving again. This is our favorite bread recipe and I am so excited to share it with ya’ll.

John 6:35   And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

Jesus is the bread of life.

While we can be sustained on Jesus:)

We also are sustained on good homemade bread…..

Since I could not find my original blog post, I decided to try to remember the order of photos to make the bread…. I have them on my photobucket account still. So, instead of showing a messy kitchen… I decided to reuse the old photos

What is a blog post without photos right?

So bread…..

Gather up what you need.

Photobucket
Photobucket

4 1/2 cup of warm water

2TBS of yeast. ( I use the bulk yeast I can get at Sam’s or the like)

1/2 cup of sugar ( I use Honey)

1/2 cup of oil ( I use coconut oil )

2 eggs

You can add in some ground flax-seed if you want.

1/2 cup of dry milk. ( if you forget, no worries it comes out just fine )

10-12 cups of flour ( all wheat, all white, half and half or whatever combination you want to use.)
Some salt, ( I NEVER USE it and only put it in at the end. It could kill the yeast.)
PAM

I generally use half wheat and half white. But only if the wheat is fresh ground in my mill. If I have wheat berries.

Photobucket
So in your mixer or big bowl as this will make 4 loaves of bread. Put in the water, yeast, and honey/sugar. Give it a swirl.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Next add in the oil, egg, and dry milk.
This is where I start my mixer on the number 3 setting.
I put in 5 cups of flour.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Oh man, I am salivating for some fresh ground flour…
Dear Jamie, please clean my mill so I can grind up the rest of my wheat berries PLEASE!!!
I usually put in my wheat first then the white flour.
Photobucket
Then once it looks like pancake batter stop and if you have a Bosch like me, put the top on and set the timer for  30 minutes and go…
Those with the icky KA or mixing by hand, just have to watch it. I like to let it sit for a few so the yeast can do its magic. To me, it makes a nicer bread. You do not have to do this part at all.
Photobucket
After it has been sitting, start it up again, and drop in flour by a half a cup to a cup at a time, as you learn your machine and how much flour you will need, it is easier to gauge,
This is also where, if you put in salt, this is where you want to put it in. I think the recipe called for a teaspoon. I never use it so I do not remember it.
Photobucket
I generally only use 9 cups of flour.
If you are using a machine, you add flour till the dough cleans the side of the bowl.
Photobucket
See where the side is clean?
Stop adding flour.
This is where your machine if it is a KA or a Bosch will begin to knead the dough. I drop my speed down to 2 for this. In my Bosch, I only need to knead for about 3 minutes, not sure on the KA, but you want the bread to have elasticity to it.
If you do it by hand, you need to probably use 12 cups of flour and it takes about 15 minutes to knead the dough.
After kneading the dough, pray your area with PAM.
Spray your hands with PAM and get the dough out of the bowl.
Drop it on to the counter.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Then let it rest for about 10 minutes. Again, not needed but I like it and it works great.
Photobucket
I then grab my handy dandy tool.
Photobucket
and divide my bread up into 4 sections.
Photobucket
I almost never get it even as you will tell in the pictures.
If you have a food scale you can use it to divide the dough into even amounts.
I then flatten my sections
Photobucket
Then roll it into a loaf
Photobucket
I stick it into an oiled loaf pan and flatten it out some.
Photobucket
This where I have started lately, cutting it a bit down the top with a sharp knife to make an indent. Again, not needed and I just started this.
Cover it with a thin towel, I forgot the name of what I use,
Photobucket
Let it rise till it has doubled in size.
Photobucket
In the middle of rising, cut the oven on 375 to preheat.
Bake it for 35 minutes.
Photobucket
Photobucket
After baking,
take the bread out of the loaf pans and allow them to cool for a bit.
I know hard to do..
You will burn your hands while cutting if you do not wait. I learned this the hard way:)
Photobucket
In the end…..
Enjoy
Photobucket

Now, if you want to see all my bread photo’s click on this link… They are not in order, but you can see all the bread photo’s I have ever done.

4 thoughts on “Bread

    • Awesome, come back and tell me how it tasted! I just made some last night. I am going to modify it tomorrow for dinner and halve it so I can make pizza pockets with it.

  1. Pingback: Slammin’ Pancakes | Love His Name

Comments?

