Born to Die

On the night Christ was born
Just before the break of morn,
As the stars in the sky were fading,
O’er the place where He lay,
Fell a shadow cold and gray
Of a cross that would humble a King.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.

Jesus knew when He came
He would suffer in shame,
He could feel ev’ry pain and sorrow.
But He left Paradise,
With His blood He paid the price –
My redemption to Jesus I owe.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.

From His throne Jesus came,
Laid aside Heaven’s fame
In exchange for the cross of Calv’ry;
For my gain suffered loss,
For my sin He bore the cross –
He was wounded and I was set free.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.

Dearest Lord, evermore
May Thy cross I adore
As I follow the path to Calv’ry;
Of Thy death I partake,
My ambition I forsake –
All my will I surrender to Thee.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.
Comments?

