Born to Die

We were sitting in church and we sang this song. Born to Die. Ron Hamiliton is the writer of said song.
While we were singing, the words just “got to me”

Seriously, we were sitting there singing and I wanted to just bawl.  I just can not imagine giving birth to my child so that he could just die. Yet, Mary did. She followed God. She gave birth to Jesus knowing that this child was going to be something “special”. She could have said no, I am choosing to not follow God. I mean come on, how many times have we said no to God when he has asked us or called us to do something? I have. I will raise my hand for that. I rather not, but I want to be honest.

On the night Christ was born
Just before the break of morn,
As the stars in the sky were fading,
O’er the place where He lay,
Fell a shadow cold and gray
Of a cross that would humble a King.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.

Jesus knew when He came
He would suffer in shame,
He could feel ev’ry pain and sorrow.
But He left Paradise,
With His blood He paid the price –
My redemption to Jesus I owe.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.

From His throne Jesus came,
Laid aside Heaven’s fame
In exchange for the cross of Calv’ry;
For my gain suffered loss,
For my sin He bore the cross –
He was wounded and I was set free.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
    He was wounded that I might live.

Dearest Lord, evermore
May Thy cross I adore
As I follow the path to Calv’ry;
Of Thy death I partake,
My ambition I forsake –
All my will I surrender to Thee.

Chorus

      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      Jesus suffered my sin to forgive;
      Born to die upon Calv’ry,
      He was wounded that I might live.

 

    I found a very cute video, that I hope you will like.

He Suffered so that You might Live!

 

Comments?

