Gleaning

I as a mom have been trying to glean wisdom from other women I know. We should never be afraid to learn from someone else. Believe it or not, you or I are not the only source of information.

I know many out there, myself included that think they have that corner of the market where it comes to child rearing.

Then, something happens.

You get an oops. what you think is really not so.

You realize, you have made a mistake when it comes to be being a parent.

What worked for one family, does not mean it will work for mine. What worked for mine, sure does not work for yours.

Recently, if you have followed my blog, we are faced with my teen daughter being pregnant.

Is it “our” fault as parents, Yes. and No.

We all have a sin nature, even you high and mighty blog writer and reader.

As much as my children are evil monsters, so am I.

There is much wisdom to learned from the ladies at church. You know that grey-haired woman that is always glaring at you because your children are not being quiet during service. Ask her if she has any advice that would help you. Most women I have met are so willing to help you that they are just not really glaring at you, they are boring a hole into you so you would get an idea. ( blanket training is awesome )
Even a good ol’ take the child(ren) our of the service into the bathroom and spank them.

WHOAAA

Yes, I said spank that little bundle of joy. Guess how often you really might have to do that before the kid gets a clue. In my experience, only a few times before all Mom has to do is just give that child “the look”.

Gleaning from even a younger woman, would be helpful to us as Christian wives and mothers. Why? Because guess where she might have learned her information?

Gleaning is a necessity to life.  At least in mine.

Ladies, 10 years ago, when a person said, I met so and so online. We stopped and glared at her. How safe is that? But with the internet in full swing and not going away anytime soon, meeting someone from the internet is now an almost daily occurrence.

I have met several wonderful women from the internet. Having a friend online is no longer separate from “real life” friends. Because they are so much apart of our REAL LIVES. When I was still on Facebook, ( like I have been off for so long right?) I was apart of a chat and core group. We would do what we call 15’s. We cleaned for 15 minutes and then come back and chat for 15. We got to know one another. We even knew by their style of writing how they felt that day. We developed friends we have never talked with over the phone. One of my best friends is a woman in Oklahoma. She is a momma to 5 children. She and I have never ever met, but we talk almost daily via internet, texting, or even on the phone. Marie, is closer to me then some of my friends I have grown up with.

I have met some awesome ladies online,and then went on to meet them face to face. Lori, is a sweet “Southern belle” that I got to meet when I moved down to TN. Since then, we text back and forth and have plans on seeing each other again. In fact, they have even called on my husband to come and fix a vehicle a time or 2.
I even have a friend coming tomorrow. To my home, and we are going to meet each other for the very first time. Heather, I met her via a message board that I will not name since I am no longer there. We have made each other aprons. I still have mine. ( I wonder if she still has hers?) In any case, I get to meet her, her husband, and her 2 daughters.

Ladies like a farmer gleans from his fields, we as wives and mama’s need to glean from each other.

  Titus 2:3   The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things;

Titus 2:4   That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children,

Titus 2:5   To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

 

Comments?

