Holding Hands

Adam and I took off for parts unknown,

at the local Walmarts

Yep, I said Walmarts.

That is how we say here in the South.

We are catching on slowly.

As we were walking around in Walmarts ( cheesy grin )

Adam grabs my hand, and says to me, I love you mom.

My heart just melted.

I think it is somewhere in the pet food isle.

He is so cheesy, but, I adore him.

His favorite food happens to be cheese,

go figure.

So, he grabs my hand and we are walking around the store.

Mother and Son.

Together.

We get what we came for, fish food, pet snacks, a free bucket from the bakery. ( need to go back for more ).

I grab crazy glue and something else.

We are still holding hands even though they are sweaty now ( ick )

But, I do not dare let go,

this could be the last time.

We had to let go to check out. I was sad. I did not want to let go.

I did.

I think I might have shed a tear or two. Maybe

Then we get done at Walmarts, on our trek back home.

And.

You know what happens again, in the solitude of the van.

He picks up my hand.

And holds it,

While I drive us home.

The End.

Psalms 127:3   Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

 

2 thoughts on “Holding Hands

  1. Beautiful. Adam’s half-brother Jayson is going on 17 years old this week coming. I don’t have a lot of those opportunities anymore. I certainly cherish those moments with him when they so rarely arise.
    When they don’t say it or give you hugs or kisses anymore, you start to find the words “I love you” in the things that they do for you, like preparing breakfast or getting the coffee started 15 minutes before you crawl out of bed. I thank God everyday for all of those “little things”.
    Thanks for sharing, Ginger.

Comments?

