How Long O Lord Shall I Complain

I love hymns, give me a hymn book and I am good to go. Just let me hum them without complaint and I am almost jubilant.

Now, I tried to write this post, and had it completed but it went up blank. So, I will try it again.

My favorite place to get hymns is at CyberHymnal.

Isaac Watts is one of my favorite writers. I love most of the hymns he has written.

I was looking around today under his name and came accross this one, and it just hit me in the stomach. I so needed to read this.

I decided to share it with you.

How long, O Lord, shall I complain,
Like one that seeks his God in vain?
Canst Thou Thy face for ever hide
And I still pray, and be denied?

Shall I for ever be forgot,
As one whom Thou regardest not?
Still shall my soul Thine absence mourn,
And still despair of Thy return?

How long shall my poor troubled breast
Be with these anxious thoughts oppressed?
And Satan, my malicious foe,
Rejoice to see me sunk so low?

Hear, Lord, and grant me quick relief,
Before my death conclude my grief:
If Thou withhold Thy heav’nly light,
I sleep in everlasting night.

How will the powers of darkness boast
If but one praying soul be lost!
But I have trusted in Thy grace,
And shall again behold Thy face.

Whate’er my fears or foes suggest,
Thou art my hope, my joy, my rest;
My heart shall feel Thy love, and raise
My cheerful voice to songs of praise.

 

How Long O Lord Shall I Complain?

If you do not know the Lord, I can show you how.

Comments?

