Soap

And, No, I am not talking about what your mama put in your mouth when you sassed her back.

Wait,

Was I the only one?

Nah,

I bet I was not the only one.

So, anyways, I love homemade laundry soap,

even though I have not made it in 8 or 9 years.

It was a fun process, and very easy.

Of course, I did not have to grate the soap by hand, Amen

Do I hear an Amen?

I used my Bosch grater:)

I threw the grated soap into 4 cups of hot water that I had boiling on the stove.

I stirred, and stirred…..

Until it was all melted.

I then threw in a cup of Washing Soda, as well as a 1/2 of Borox.

I waited till it was disolved.

I had a 5 gallon bucket just laying around.

So, I dumped it into there, stirred it some more.

Popped the thing into the sink to fill it all the way to the top.

I called the husband to come over into the kitchen.

He used his strong muscles and lifted the bucket of soap and brought into the laundry-slash-mudroom.

It had to sit for another 24 hours.

My poor mountain of laundry sat all day.

Darn.

Till I stirred it again, and popped 3 gallons of the stuff into waiting containers such as old laundry bottles and an old gallon vinegar bottle.

I filled the bottles up half way, and put water into the rest.

So, out of the 5 gallons of soap I made,

I will end up with 10 gallons.

All for around 7 or 8 dollars start up cost. I still have about 6 more loads left in both the washing soda and borax if I did my corrections right. I just need more soap, and in reality. I have some awesome homemade soap here, so I really do not need to purchase anything else.

So, there ya have it.

Yummy homemade soap,

and not a mouth was used:)

2 thoughts on “Soap

  1. We grated the soap by hand when we used to make this soap. I liked doing it and so did my younger brothers. I am 16 and have 4 brothers and one sister and my mom is in the hospital to have my new little sister. I am so excited. Children are such a blessing.

    Petra

  2. Pingback: Mt. Washmore | Love His Name

Comments?

