Humility

What an amazing past couple of days.
Overwhelming is the word I would use.
God is still on the throne.
That excites me.
Does it you?
What also excites me is that Jamie and I are fixing to be grandparents.
(gasp)
I know it, heard it even.
Casey and her beu are expecting.
Somewhere at the end of May.
Now, before ya’ll think I done lost my mind,
I was not and am not excited that my daughter is 16. I am not excited that she had sex.
But, the deed is done.
We can either holler and yell and kick her out. Or, we can show her love, support and help her become a good mom.
God says children are a blessing. They are not a curse.
We love our daughter. We have grown to love her beu.
We will love this precious baby.

8 thoughts on “Humility

  1. 🙂 You will make an awesome grandma! And I pray Casey will have an easy, healthy Pregnancy and Baby… I am happy to see how you responded to this… It saddens me to see parents kick there kids out and turn on them so harshly when really we all have made mistakes… God doesn’t measure sin and I think people forget that… Love ya and praying for your whole family… Please tell Casey and her husband -to -be congrats… I think she’ll be a great momma! 🙂

  2. Oh Ginger,
    I’m sorry. 16 is so young. I don’t know what else to say but it is hard to be exited. Babies are a blessing – hoping these kids can do right by this baby. I have a 15yos and I simply can not imagine this happening.

    I am going to pray for your family but I just have a hard time being excited by this news.

    • It is tough. I have cried myself to sleep since Tuesday. I am sure I will do it again tonight. I never imagined it would be my princess. We have stressed purity since the day she came to me to ask where babies came from. It seems like yesterday I had her. I was her age. I wanted different for her.

      • I know you must be mourning your dream for your daughter, but today is here and all the tears and disappointment and hurt and anger won’t change what is happening. May God continue to strengthen you. At the end of the day, babies are wonderful and you just need to do your best to make the best out of today. I am praying for your family. (hugs)

  3. WE ALWAYS WANT DIFFERENT FOR OUR CHILDREN AND YOUR HANDLING THIS THE BEST WAY YOU CAN SOME PEOPLE MAY NOT BE AS HAPPY BECAUSE OF HER AGE BUT LIKE YOU SAID A CHILD IS A BLESSING AND THE ONLY PERSON WHO CAN JUDGE IS GOD HIMSELF I AM HERE IF YOU EVER NEED TO TALK AND SEND HER MY LOVE BEEN WAITING ON YOUR CALL I AM HERE IF U NEED TO TALK I AM PROUD OF YOU THINGS WILL WORK OUT REMEMBER GOD ONLY GIVES US WHAT WE CAN HANDLE I UNDERSTAND WHAT YOUR GOING THROUGH I LOVE YOU ALL

  4. All I can say is congratulations to you and your family. What’s done is done and I’m so pleased that you seem to be facing this as an unexpected blessing rather than a curse. Your daughter needs you so much right now and if anyone is up to the challenge of mothering your daughter through this, it’s you! GOD BLESS YOU!!!!

Comments?

