The Change

No, I am not talking about what happens to a woman, in the near very distant future of moi.

But, the change that has happened to me and mine over the years.

Specifically, the way we dress.

My daughter and I have gone from wearing jeans and tshirts, to wearing dresses.

We then went to homemade clothing and head coverings, to denim skirts and head coverings.

Yea.

We then went to not wearing a head covering to wearing jeans and t shirts.

Yea.

Confused?

I can see where that can be an issue.

Some would say, it is a testimony issue, and I have to agree.

Has the change hurt my testamony.

Sure.

I think it has.

My husband and I have evolved over the years.

I am more closer to God now, then when I was dressing in homemade clothes and wearing a cover.

Are they wrong? Nope. Not at all.

If the Lord were to tell me again to cover, I would.

In a heartbeat.

Do, I think I am being told to cover now?

No. It was for a time. I learned much about God. I learned more about him in that time frame then any other time in my life.

But, since we are to obey our husbands in everything. I can not disobey him in this.

Do I dress modestly? Yes.

Do I wear jeans? Yes, to work. I will around the house too, but generally, I am found in one of my many denim skirts.

I can not wear them to work. It would be a safety issue. I work with a bunch of boys that would make it impossible to wear a skirt. That and it is not apart of the uniform.

I would love to wear a skirt here, I do feel that I could wear it. I would get a ton of cat calls, but that is nothing. At least not to me.

My husband, gave my daughter the decision making in what she wears. Do I agree, No.

A big fat no.

All I can do though is give her idea’s on how to make what she wears more modest while still giving her that choice in what she wears,

When we shop, I refuse to buy anything immodest.

For the most part, she is modest.

I do feel that when we went through all the changes, we were in bondage.  Bondage to what we thought was right, because that is what we were told by others.

Did my husband and I believe that we were doing what we thought was the right thing. Sure we did. We have read our bibles and it scripture was very clear to us, along with the commentaries we have read, and what some wonderful folks have said to us.

But, at the same time, we also always had some sort of thought in the back of our brains. Are we doing this because this is what God wanted us to do. Or is it because we were doing it to win favor?

Like I said earlier, I have never been more close to God in my walk, then I am right now. And the problems I am having in my marriage, our home, and work. I fully believe I am on the right path.

The devil has been working overtime to discourage me. And, I would be lying if I said I have not been discouraged.

I have been doing a lot of reading on Faith, and about my walk with God. Interestingly enough, that is exactly what my pastor has been preaching on as of late too..

I am so not there. I have no idea if the Lord is going to call me to cover again or not. I am ready if he does.

Are you ready to do as He calls?

I am ready and willing to change whatever He wants in my life.

3 thoughts on “The Change

  1. This is a wonderful post, and I have to agree wholeheartedly that we are ever evolving beings. I also agree that as our walk with God deepens and our knowledge of Him deepens, our needs change, our view points change, and our motivations change. While wearing skirts only and head covering may work for some, I honestly don’t believe that it has to be a command for everyone.

    We are all at different stages in our lives and have so many different needs. Our continuted focus on HIM will certainly increase our faith and encourage our desire to seek HIS desire for our lives.

    Kudos to you and your husband!

  2. I really appreciate you posting this. I hope my question came across as I intended that is to say curious, not judgmental or critical. Thank you so much for your honesty.

Comments?

