Being a Mom

Being a mom is the best thing in this whole world.

You, as a mom is a job no like other for sure.

There is not a chance for a pay raise.

You are on call 24/7.

You, even when sick, still take care of the kids. You, if you have olders like I do, delegate jobs. But if you have younger children, you can not delegate. You are it.

Working outside my home is not something I envisioned doing once I got married. Though I did work for several months after getting married.

I was a SAHM for a long time, till I had to go to work due to my husband being laid off and at the time, we also did not have an income and we seeked help from DSS. They have this wonderful program called Welfare to Work and I was glad for it then. It helped my husband and I get jobs to get back on our feet.

I then, at my husbands urging, came home again and took care of my real responsibility.

My wee ones.

Then not have a working husband hit again. We tried for a couple of years survive on unemployment and foodstamps. We just got further and further into debt when I was several months owed to the land lord and utility companys. I went back to work.

Being a mom is doing what is best for your children. Either staying home, or going to work. Sometimes you have to just do what is needed.

Do I like going to work? No

NO

NO

NO I sure do not. I hate it.

I would rather be home folding laundry or baking bread.

( note to self, get flour)

My husband is now going to school and will in about 8 months be able to support our family again, Lord willing of course.

My husband wanted me to go back to work. He asked me to. So, I am obeying him.

As I still a keeper at home? YES

YES I am, I am still on call 24/7

I still am up taking care of a sick kid, or making dinner, or doing the laundry.

I am still available to my husband when he needs me. Same with my children.

Even my dogs, OKay….

I get a kick out of some of these blogs that tear apart women that work. Some of us have no choice. Either work, or live off welfare. Either way, it’s wrong right?

Some of these women forget a part in tha Titus 2 verse.

Yes it says Keeper at home, and most of us moms that work outside of our home much rather be home.

Some of us are actually also following God’s direction since we are to obey our husbands in everything.

Titus 2:5To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

See, it says to also to be obedient to their own husbands.

Some of these titus 2 ladies forget that their words can hurt a fellow sister in Christ and actually turn them away from God.

I have seen it happen over and over again in the circles that I am in.

Chew on these verses about a husband and wife team, how it is supposed to be.

The husband is the head of the home, not the wife.  If a wife is working because her husband told her so, then goodness… She is OBEYING her husband.

Ephesians 5:23   For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church: and he is the saviour of the body.

Ephesians 5:28   So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself.

Ephesians 5:33   Nevertheless let every one of you in particular so love his wife even as himself; and the wife see that she reverence her husband.

Ephesians 5:22   Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord.

A working wife, is submiting to her husband, she is following his leadership…

We are going to assume that the wives I am talking about are God Fearing, Saved by the Blood, Submissive wife to her husband. These wives would do what their husband needs them to do, which makes them a HELPMEET.

Ephesians 5:24   Therefore as the church is subject unto Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in every thing.

Colossians 3:18   Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as it is fit in the Lord.

1 Peter 3:1   Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives;
And, some wives have lost husbands, or back slidden husbands, who, may not know that a wifes place is at home. So, do we just go to our husbands and tell them we no longer work ( even though you want us to) and then therefore be disobedient to them?

Genesis 2:18   And the LORD God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.

We are to be a help meet ot our husbands.

1 Timothy 2:12   But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence.

By going to my husband and saying husband, I am no longer working, I am usuroing my authority over him. He is my head… Not me being his head.

Instead of putting down the wives and moms that have to work, to take care of their families, how about praying for them.

Being a mom is the Highest Calling.

It does not matter if I am working or at home. I am still a mom.

4 thoughts on “Being a Mom

  1. You are exactly right! I think my biggest problem w/ working moms are those who work because they think there’s more purpose in their careers or that it’s actually better for their children if they work. True, providing food & a roof over their heads is a good thing, but do they need trips to Disney World, the latest video games, etc.? If that’s the type of lifestyle working moms are trying to support, it’s silly.

    My mom was a working mom. She had to be. I admire her for it and have no idea how she did it all. She kept our house immaculate, cooked healthy meals, helped us with our homework…on top of working full time. Instead of putting moms down who HAVE to work, we should, indeed, pray for them.

    Praying for you, Ginger!

    • I just get a kick of these women who do nothing but tear down another sister. It’s like whoa.
      I have to agree, if you are working to go on vacation or even better yet, I have heard, so you can put your child in daycare.
      What? Oxymoron anyone?

      Ps I still need flour.

Comments?

