All Things

What does All Things mean to you?

We can find this phrase in several verses in the scriptures.  One of the more known and my life verse is

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

It is my life verse because I can do ALL THINGS through Christ.  He does strengthen me. I can tell when I am not walking with the Lord and trying to do the things in my own strength. Because I fail. I fail at whatever it is I try to do, such as loosing weight, cleaning my home, finding a job, training my children. Even the mudane things such as cleaning our homes can be a HUGE thing if we are not doing it in Christ. Put on some good music and go to town. My daughter used to sing as she did dishes, cleaning her room, and even taking a shower. She sang hymns and biblically sound musc. Those sounds are hardly ever heard in our home anymore. Why?

Well, I can only accept my part of the blame and that is because I stopped walking in Christ. I stopped doing ALL THINGS through Him.

The first time we see the phrase ALL THINGS is found in Genesis 9

Genesis 9:3 Every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you; even as the green herb have I given you all things.

Everything moving and living thing, God gave us. He gives us ALL THINGS. The meat we eat, the salad greens we eat, the milk we drink, the cotton used in our clothing, God gave it.  The grass we lay on in the sun, the oceans, the rivers we swim in. He gave it. He gave ALL THINGS to us.

It just amazed me. I forget about Him, and yet, he never forgets me. It brings me to tears.

Psalms 57:2 I will cry unto God most high; unto God that performeth all things for me.

David writes us in Psalms 57 that God performs ALL THINGS for us.

Wow, ALL THINGS! Amazing yes?  He sends the rain, the sun, the rainbows, the butterfly dances for me and for you.

When I am driving to and from work, I go through a mountain large hill pass. It amazed me both in the AM and in the PM as I go through it. It is just so beautiful. Even in the brown of winter. Now, the grass is green and the leaves are growing on the tree’s. Flowers are starting to bloom and the red wasps are out. It just thrills me each time. Seriously. Even in the dark, you can generally see the hills in the horizon. Then it comes up quikly and you can see the up close how God made those hills since the road builders blasted through the hills to make the highway. You can see the sediment that the Lord laid down. See HE did that. All Things. Go figure.

Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Death, birth, hardships, and good things work together. God may not cause the eathquake to fall upon Japan, but He does make it work for him. If someone came to know Him through the bad of the earthquake, then does that not make it a good thing?

Just before Christmas, a church we used to fellowship with, lost a very prominent member. Brother Parfitt was a man of God. He lived and breathed his beliefs. He shared them with his children, his wife, his church, his co-workers, and any stranger he came into contact with the love of God.  His wife is truly a daughter of Him. When she came upon the scene of his accident that morning,  she prayed. Sure she cried. I can not imagine. Sure she could have been crying out to God to save him, yet she also said, if God should take him, then so be it. I badly paraphrased it. Her faith showed through and many many folks were able to see it. It was broadcasted on several radio stations in the area. Even those that would NEVER talk about Christ or faith showed or told her story. I linked it above. You should really take a look at it.

ALL THINGS,

The very last time we see the phrase is in Revelations.

Revelation 21:7 He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son.

We, as christians will inherit it all! God is our God and we are his children, and as He dwells in us, we dwell in Him. Every thing God has, is ours when He comes back. He is ours and we are his. Is God not amazing? I am so glad I am saved and a child of His!

You find the phrase ALL THINGS 162 times in the bible. We know that even if God’s word mentions it once, it is important to Him and should be important to us and He wants us to know it. So It think, 162 times mentioned. I think it is very important to God that we KNOW that ALL THINGS is important.

John 1:3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. 

 

Comments?

