Tattoo’s

Do you have one?

I so do not.

Not yet.

Not sure if I will ever get one.

But I have wanted one long before I was ever a Christian,

and I have wanted one ever since I became a Christian.

Is it wrong to have a tattoo?

Might depend on who you talk to.

I know in my “circle” it would be considered wrong.

It is one of those No No’s.

One of those, make sure you hide that thing.

But is it wrong?

Might depend like I said, on who you talk to.

Some say it is graffiti and you are marking up God’s temple.

1Cr 6:19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost [which is] in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?
1Cr 6:20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

Some say it is decorating God’s temple.

Who is right?

Who is wrong?

Yep, I know, I do not have scripture to back up allowing tattoo’s….

Is it one of those gray area’s like head covering, dresses, etc?

Is it decoration?

or

Is it graffiti?

But, I do want one, an arm band of some sort with my children’s names entwined in some way.

I wonder how many friends I will loose?

11 thoughts on “Tattoo’s

  1. My very 1st thought is that, if you loose friends over a tattoo of your childrens names then they aren’t very good friends to begin with.

  2. Won’t lose me, I have two of ’em, lol. And I LOVE them…and my super-conservative husband loves them. And I want more. Will I get more? Maybe. My biggest concern is I like to be able to keep them private, but I can’t reconcile showing my body off to a stranger un-necessarily in order to get more tats. That’s the part that hangs me up.

  3. My husband has a tattoo he got after he was “saved” at a Southern Baptist Church. I think it does depend. Sometimes if someone has tattoos on their face or hands, it can make finding employment difficult. So if you knowingly got a tattoo that others would find extremely odd/strange/weird, that could be wrong if you had a “I don’t care about providing for my children” attitude. Or if one got a tattoo that would intentionally cause scandal to others (like those immodest sailor tattoos). Or a tattoo that was mean in some way (like getting “hate” tattooed across your fingers, that sort of thing.)

    OTOH, there is no clear proscription from decorating your body either temporarily (makeup, jewelry) or permanently (ear pierced, tattoo) as long as you are not DAMAGING the temple (i.e., piercings that are so extreme your body becomes disfigured or mutilated.)

    “Knowing” you – I don’t think any of those would apply, LOL!

    The question you need to ask yourself is, does this glorify God? Would this cause myself or others to turn away from God? Because THAT is what we are commanded to do. Love God, then love our neighbor.

  4. PS – if a friend would dump you because you put ink on your body, perhaps there was no real friendship to begin with. Assuming the tattoo wasn’t purposely offensive to the friend, like getting “Jane Sux” on your leg, LOL.

  5. LOL! I don’t want a tattoo cause I heard their pain is worse than child birth. Childbirth was pretty rough. 😉

    But no, you haven’t lost a friend in me cause that is a desire. My secret taboo desire….hmmmm….to dye my hair red.

  6. I just got a tattoo a few months ago after going through the same musings you have! I searched far and wide to find a good artist and it turned out so well. I absolutely love it! It did hurt a lot though 😦 I am planning my next one already, so it must not have been too bad. Lol!

  7. Hmmm – I have no desire for a tattoo, but two of my sisters have them. Or one has and one wants one…. Which? I don’t recall. LOL Whichever, I just have better uses for my money and I’m pretty sure I’d get tired of whatever it was I had printed on my body.

    But sinful? No, I don’t think so. Go for it if you can afford it and you think you’ll love it forever.

    I’m a fellow ModernMom, making the blog rounds…

Comments?

